Yes My Son Has ADHD

When my son was first diagnosed with ADHD I did not know much about it, after reading the literature in the dr’s office I thought to myself no way is my son like this , sure he is hyper and seems to always be bouncing off the wall but to me I thought that was typical for a boy his age and just releasing energy and excited about going to school and being around kids his own age. Then I started to blame myself , where did I go wrong did I eat the wrong food or take some type of medication that I was not suppose to while I was pregnant with him, did I not nurse him long enough,where did I as a parent fail him. I wanted to put some blame on his dead beat biological father for not being there for my son and not paying attention to him and being such a jerk. But there was no one to blame, I was blessed with this child and if that means he has ADHD then so be it , I will not love him any less or pretend that he is not mine. All I can do now is find out what I need to do to help him if that means medications , counseling and having him being emotional and off in his own world then I’m there to help.It has not been easy there are days when he is on a emotional roller coaster every word that I say seems to set him off and he goes storming to his room and slams the door and throws tantrums until he has worn him self out. We have our good days when he is mildly calm and his brain seems to click and he can focus and be mellow. He has a low esteem level and at times he wishes that his brain was right and normal, but what is normal sure experts have a definition for this but are they right? Is any one really normal? some one explained to me once that having ADHD and O.D.D. is like having 50 televisions on in your head and they are all on a different channel, My goodness I can’t imagine what is going on in his head I try my best to understand him and love him. It will be a long journey but I’m going to take that journey with him and let him know that he is not alone .I’m thankful that he has a teacher in school that is willing to work with him and a school that has knowledge and the understanding of kids like my son, His first school he went to labeled him and put him in special classes , Yes my son is special but no need to label him and isolate him. Granted he does need the one on one time but not for the entire day. He has come along way and let his potential shine, Who knows my son or any other child or adult that has ADHD could be the next President or Astronaut or the one to find a cure for life threatening disease. My child likes to draw and build , He could grow up and be a great designer and be well known .Just because a person has ADHD does not mean they are with out potential.

3 Comments »

  1. 1
    Chris G. Says:

    I love the post! It is not easy dealing with the challenges you face, but it seems you have set your resolve to helping your son have a bright and successful future. He needs you and it is wonderful that you are rising to the challenge and taking a positive approach to his issues.

    Thanks for the insight!

    – Chris

  2. 2
    Michael Says:

    Hey there,

    I liked what you had to say. You’ve got the right attitude. I’m glad you get to spend so much time with him and get him the help he needs. I honestly think you can find deep faults or things people would consider wrong or different with anyone. Some people just struggle with more visible or disruptive ones. I think that’s the way we were created. Everybody is drastically different with a need for each other and our creater to help fill those voids. So yeah, definately keep up the positive attitude, cause I honestly believe the world is open to him to discover and relize his dreams. Wow what a long and confusing paragraph, hope my ramblings made a little sense, love you my friend.


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

